When the Timeline be poppin’

So it was the Oscars on Sunday or whatever (was very much my sentiment before the ceremony and is slightly less so after it) but pretty much, I’m not that fussed. I was ofcourse overjoyed or some of the results, Auntie Viola Davis, Man Crush Everyday Mahershala Ali (also would’ve of been happy with Dev Patel), Tarell and Barry for Best Screenplay and Best Film. Denzel was robbed, and warren & faye really be out here doing to devils work.

But what I want to talk about is my Instagram TL the following day.

When I awoke on a Danish Monday morn and perused my Instagram TL after having checked the nights winners (and controversy), I saw nothing but black. Beautiful, Excellent, Magical, Carefree, Joyful Black faces, and it remained that way for all of the morning and much of the afternoon. When I tell you I scrolled and scrolled and scrolled and saw nothing but black. I’m talking about Taraji’s, Octavia’s, Halle’s (what died on her head), Chrissy & John’s, David’s, Ava’s, and Ruth’s. I’m talking Naomie’s, Janelle’s, Mimi & Pharrell’s, Cynthia’s, Travante’s, Alex’s, and Ashton’s. Black on Black on Black.

It was glorious.

I mean can you really get a better start to the day. Smiling, fulfilled black faces to fill your social media fix, it’s all that I actually wish for every day. Don’t get me wrong I live for my white faves, Meryl Streep, Amy Adams, and Emma Stone (with all the tea). But even though I predominantly follow black people on most social media platforms the ratio of black to white that my eyes take it (because of the way this society is set up) is a fairly even mish mash. So to see people who I can identify with dripping in Beauty, in Elegance, in Blackness was what I needed. It was what I needed when I didn’t even know I needed it.

On that there Danish Monday, I had a good day dammit.

 

✊🏿King✊🏿

Like, Subscribe, & Share

Leave a Reply

