Documentaries

I genuinely believe that if people watched more documentaries the world would be a better place.

Along with reading, watching documentaries has been something I’ve done a lot more of this year, and I’m better person because of it. I’m always looking to learn new information, uncover new stories, just acquisition more knowledge, and like everyone else I prefer it not to take too much of a struggle. So the less researching I have to do the better, and what better way than documentaries. Someone has already done the research for you and you get to sit back and enjoy an hour or two worth of information that fundamentally helps you become a more informed and intelligent human being.

Luckily for me, at present we’re having (I ain’t joking about not coming back) a documentary festival here in Copenhagen, apparently the third biggest in the world (who knew). So I have been gorging myself, attending screenings of various different documentaries on the daily. From topics that I knew a considerable amount about like Martin Luther King Jr (but learnt even more), to people I knew a little something about but not enough for my liking such as Martha P Johnson (she was and is the LIGHT). Then there’s topics that I shamefully do not know enough about such as the Gaza-Israel Conflict or the Refugee crises (the many around the world), to the future of fuel, energy sources, and fusion.

It’s all been massively insightful and beyond interesting, I’ve heard so many stories and learnt so much in such a short period of time and all from the comfort of a cinema seat.

So, shout out CPH:DOX (especially their daily giveaways), you’ve been a joy and also the reason why I’m behind on work this week (this post almost didn’t get written). And for everyone else, get you some documentaries in your life. Get you some learning with a side of popcorn.

Docs I’ve seen/will be seeing this week:

  • King: A Filmed Record… Montgomery to Memphis
  • 4.1 Miles
  • Pay It No Mind: The Life and Times of Marsha P. Johnson
  • Casting Faith
  • Let There Be Light
  • Ambulance
  • Boiling Point
  • The Transformation
  • The Salt Mines
  • I Am Not Your Negro

Check them out if your can, and I’m taking recommendations.

 

✊🏿King✊🏿

Like, Subscribe, & Share

Leave a Reply

